Giving Thanks

I know I might be a bit late to the thanksgiving party but I feel everyday is a day to give thanks.

First off, as always, I have missed writing and reading all the wonderful articles here and just simply bonding with my WordPress family. School is over in two weeks and I cannot wait. These last four months have been overwhelming to say the least, so I could barely find time to write. I guess that’s what happens when you work two jobs and take seven courses in one semester.

Anyways, I am glad to be writing even as I know I should be editing my school papers or studying. I couldn’t resist anymore after staring at the screen and reading a couple of articles here and there. I am hoping to find a balance next semester especially as I will be enrolled in fewer courses.

In the spirit of giving thanks, I am thankful for the platform WordPress has given me to share my feelings and thoughts even when no one is reading. Sometimes, It is not about having a reader really but to free myself of the thoughts, the feelings and even fears.

I am thankful for my family, the love we share, the unity and harmony. For having each other even as we buried my older sister this year. Thankful that we are all back on track; each one of us in the direction of their goals and dream. Thankful our parents didn’t give up on us and that they are the most supportive people we have in our lives.

I am thankful for my jobs. It gets difficult most times and I grumble and curse at it. But for the most part, I am grateful I am able to work jobs that pay my bills. Jobs that have kept a roof over my head and that have kept me warm and snug.

I am thankful that I am finally studying what I really like and to God for the epiphany that led me here. It may take a little longer, but I am comforted knowing that when I finish I will be in a career I love.

I am thankful for friends who call to check on me, who make me laugh when I am sad, who care about my success and who inspire me to be better. For friends who have stuck by me during the most difficult times and for friends who have loved me through pain, joy and sadness.

I am thankful most importantly to God Almighty because without Him, I will  not be siting here and typing all this. When I thought about how far God has brought me this morning driving to work, I broke down into a teary mess. It has been a difficult road to this place and I am not even where he has destined me to be yet.

I couldn’t have made it here on my own no matter how tough I could be. All the successes and the failures, I give him thanks because they have made me better. All the joys and tears,I am grateful because they have made me stronger. And for the love, grace and unmerited favor, I am forever thankful because I am unworthy, yet He has made me worthy.

So as we get in full celebration mode, waiting for the birth of Jesus, take a moment to reflect on your life. How far you have come and give thanks to God as you look to the journey ahead.

Happy Thanksgiving in arrears and Merry Christmas in advance.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

