What Is The Theme Of Your Life?

For the first time in two months I was ten minutes early for mass yesterday and it felt good. I like to have those few minutes because that’s my time to talk to God before mass begins. I found myself praying for the priest during my short prayer before mass; praying that God will inspire him and give him the right message for his flock. I don’t remember the last time I prayed for the priest to be inspired but God must have heard me because the message was beautiful and touching.

I always love it when father Gabriel preaches,so when I heard the announcer say he was the preacher for yesterday’s mass, I knew I was in for a treat.

Fr Gabriel began his homily by reminiscing about the past four Sundays since the start of Lent; the first Sunday, we submitted ourselves to God. The second, we committed a particular area of our lives to God that needed change. The third Sunday, we acknowledged the purpose of Christ death.The fourth Sunday, we decided to love like Christ regardless of our circumstances and yesterday,we decided to let go and let God.

When we get to the point were we feel we have done our very best, we are out of options and there’s no where else to turn, then it is time to let go and let God. And when we do, we should do so trusting him with everything we have got, believing that he will continue where we left off, pick up where we ended and make everything beautiful in his time.

He ended the homily by telling us about an assignment they were given during their last months in the seminary. They had been asked to think and decide what their life’s theme was going to be in five words or less. It had to be something they would easily remember, a theme they could always draw from if they didn’t have the bible to preach from, a theme they could always use to inspire people if they didn’t go to church.

Fr Gabe chose God’s gift from his name John. He reminded us that we were all special and were all gifts to our family, friends, community and world. He reminded us to live our lives in ways that would bless others and indeed be a gift to them and challenged us to decide for ourselves what the theme of our lives will be. A theme that would keep us grounded every time we vocalized it, a theme that would inspire us, a theme that would guide our lives if we never went to church anymore.

I haven’t stopped thinking about it and I still haven’t decided what the theme of the rest of my life would be. I have had a few ideas; victory and victorious, be the light for others, let my light shine, share the love of Christ. I have not been able to settle on any yet. Who knew something so easy could yet be so difficult. Whatever I decide as my theme, I would want for it to shape my life in a positive way and that of those around me.

So, if you were challenged to come up with a theme that will guide you for the rest of your days on earth what will it be? I was so inspired by Fr Gabriel’ message and figured this would be good food for thought for everyone. The theme has to be five words or less, one word is best because you can easily remember it. And when you so come up with one, let it be your mantra, let it impact your life and that of those around you.

Have a blessed week ahead y’all as you ponder on this question; what is the theme of your life?

Leave a Reply

